The day they removed the pins

Dear Gia,

Last Friday, it was scheduled to removed the pins from your displaced elbow.

I asked you the day before if you needed me there and your answer without hesitation was “Yes”. With that answer, I made sure that I will be there, even if it calls for me to take leave. Mommy also asked me if I can be there, I said “Yes”. I knew mommy also needed me there for her support. 

On the way there, I was talking to one of managers in our company, who was also very kind to give me a lift to the hospital. He did mention that for him, the family comes first and work can wait.

I agree with him, for me the family comes first. This is what one of the most important promise to our family. 

I could not imagine how they will pull-out the pins and was worried that it will be painful. I wanted to make sure that you will be ok and everything was fine. Asked a lot of questions to the doctor and to make sure that we know what we need to expect and what to do. 

I was so proud of you on how to confronted, managed and faced the situation. I think not a lot of children can face it like you did. It was all right to be scared and cry, I would expect everyone to be in that situation. But how you handled it amazed me. You really are a brave girl.

I did tell me friend in the office that I brought you to the playground to play. He told me why did I do that? I said it was because I do not want you to have a phobia in the playground. This is something that you grandparents taught me. You have to concur your fear.

In life you have to learn to concur your fear. It is one of the most important things that you should remember. When we were young, we were forced to do it and it was not explained properly why we are doing it (as far as I can remember). But the way we bring you up, your mommy and I make it a point to give you the confidence you need to be able to concur your fear and not just push you to do it. We never forget to always congratulate you on a job well done. 

Now that your elbow is well, please remember to take care. 

I made it a point that I will be there to support and comfort you especially in times of need.

I love you!

Daddy

Leave a comment